Traffic Violations

If you have been charged with a traffic violation, you may need an attorney to assist you in handling the matter. People don’t realize that certain traffic offenses can cause the suspension of your driver’s license. Some of these offense include, but is not limited to:

  • Operating a Motor Vehicle with a Revoked, Cancelled, or Suspended Registration
  • Racing on Highways or Streets
  • Hit & Run/Leaving the Scene of an Accident
  • No Insurance
  • Fleeing/Attempting to Elude a Police Officer
  • Driving on a Suspended/Revoked Driver’s License
  • Limited Permit Violations
  • Point Accumulation of 15 or more points, as measured by the offense date, in any consecutive 24-month period

Super Speeder

Effective January 1, 2010, pursuant to O.C.G.A. 40-6-189, in addition to the fines or penalties imposed by this local jurisdiction, the Georgia Department of Driver Services shall administer and collect an additional fee of $200.00 from any driver who is convicted of speeding at 85 mph or more on any road or at 75 mph or more on a two-lane road.

The Georgia Department of Driver Services must send written notice to the Defendant within thirty (30) days of its receipt of a super-speeder citation, and if the Defendant does not pay the citation within ninety (90) days, he or she is subject to a license suspension of indefinite duration until he or she pays the fee plus a reinstatement fee of $50.00. The sentencing court does not have jurisdiction over this penalty and cannot collect it or assist you with any information concerning it other than as provided above.

If you have been charged with a speeding violation, contact us immediately. We have been successful in having certain speeding tickets reduced so that the client does not have to pay an additional super-speeder fee.

Drivers Under 21

If you are under 21, traffic violations which would not otherwise cause a suspension, may suspend your driver’s license because of your age. Some of these offense include, but is not limited to:

  • Reckless driving
  • Any offense for which four or more points are assessable under O.C.G.A. §40-5- 57(c), which includes;
    • Improper passing on a hill or a curve
    • Unlawful passing of a school bus
    • Exceeding the speed limit by 24 mph or more
    • Aggressive driving
    • Purchasing an alcoholic beverage
    • Misrepresenting age for purpose of illegally obtaining any alcoholic beverage
    • Misrepresenting identity or using false identification for purpose of purchasing or obtaining any alcoholic beverage
    • Accumulation of 4 or more points in any 12 month period by a person under the age of 18
    • Possession of alcoholic beverages while operating a motor vehicle

Commercial Driver's License

If you have a commercial driver’s license, there are many traffic offense that can result in a temporary or permanent disqualification. If you have a commercial driver’s license, we understand that your livelihood is dependent on your driver’s license. The Department of Driver’s Services takes traffic offenses very seriously. Your ability to drive a commercial vehicle can be disqualified if you are convicted of certain driving offenses, even if you are not driving your commercial vehicle when the offense occurs. Contact us today so that we can help you keep your commercial driver’s license.